Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matthew H Fish

Lead Service Attendant
This happened almost five years ago, but I thought that I should share the details of this trip: in part because I have been writing too many non-Amtrak things on this Amtrak forum!

So, back in the summer of 2014, my life was kind of stuck in a rut for reasons I won't bore you with, and my mother suggested a nice long train trip might cheer me up. At first it was only a fanciful idea, but then I started studying train schedules and system maps, calling up a few old friends, and decided on a rather ambitious idea: a 30 day long rail pass trip across the country. The trip ended up taking place, starting around September 16, meaning it was a pretty comfortable time of year: the south was kind of cooling down, but the north wasn't really cold yet. I started putting together a route, and one day, I set off from Spokane, Washington...

I didn't have my full itinerary from the start, but here are the places I would go on this trip:

1. Spokane -> Chicago (Empire Builder)
2. Chicago, -> New York City (Lake Shore Limited
3. New York City -> Boston (NEC)
Boston -> Portland, Maine and Back (Via Bus)
4. Boston -> Washington, DC (NEC)
5. Washington, DC -> New Orleans (Crescent)
6. New Orleans -> Chicago (City of New Orleans)
7. Chicago -> Dallas (Texas Eagle)
Dallas -> Denton and back (Light Rail and Commuter Rail)
8. Dallas -> Springfield, Illinois (Texas Eagle)
9. Springfield, Illinois -> Galesburg, Illinois (Amtrak Van)
10. Galesburg, Illinois -> Emeryville, California (California Zephyr)
11. Emeryville, California -> Portland, Oregon (Coast Starlight)
12. Portland, Oregon -> Whitefish, Montana (Empire Builder)

I think I got back to Whitefish a day or two before the 30 days ran out.