Another Food Option at LA Union Station

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Not new. Haven't seen this discussed before but the Metropolitan Water District's (MWD) "Courtyard Cafe" is open to the public for breakfast and lunch. I've been walking past here twice a day for nearly 4 years on my daily Metrolink commute. Yesterday, I had some time to spare to I headed in for breakfast.

Exit Union Station near the car rental counters, Metropolitan Lounge, etc. and head across the courtyard to the entrance. Sign in with the receptionist and get a visitor tag for the restaurant. I had a decent omlet, home fried potatoes and coffee for about $8.50. Not bad.

If you're looking for something to eat besides Subway, Wetzel's, etc. you might check it out.

20171101_163024.jpg

20171101_163041.jpg

20171031_065149.jpg

I love it (not) when a photo is the correct orientation on my computer and then rotates 90° when uploaded! I guess AU isn't auto-orientation aware.

Last edited by a moderator:
Eh, go to Philippes. It's the only reason to be in LA anyway.
I’m planning on it when I get off #3 on Wednesday morning. Do they serve their French Dips at breakfast? Is it safe walking distance or should I plan on Uber. Luggage will be at the station.
Safe? I think it's unlikely you'll be mugged on your way to breakfast. They had the French Dips available last time I was there.

I’m planning on it when I get off #3 on Wednesday morning. Do they serve their French Dips at breakfast? Is it safe walking distance or should I plan on Uber. Luggage will be at the station.

Sent from my iPhone using Amtrak Forum
You can't get a french dip til after 10:30am and it is an easy and safe walk. As far as breakfast goes, it doesn't get any better than that. Highly recommend and prices are reasonable. https://www.philippes.com/breakfast.html