Booking Sleepers Online vs. Calling Amtrak

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jhjr

Train Attendant
I am fairly new to Amtrak but in booking a sleeper on the Empire Builder I got a dramatically lower price when I called than the price quoted online. Is this normal or a fluke? Thanks.

It's also possible that when you checked online or by phone (I don't know which one you called first), by the time you checked with the other one, the (fare) bucket may have rose!
rolleyes.gif
If you find a good fare, book it AT THAT TIME! (If before 7 days, you can cancel without penalty.)

Fluke, or you weren't comparing apples to apples (different day, different endpoints, etc).
If this happened to me, my first thought would be that the phone service rep, was making a mistake (wrong day, wrong endpoints, wrong accommodations, etc).

For most of my trips I visit an agent at either TRE or PHL. Don't know if it saves me anything, but I feel more comfortable speaking face to face with a live person (also, they have some pretty interesting stories to share).

I will try to call Amtrak next time I book a sleeper because of my experience.

I rode Empire Builder on sleeper twice already. The last time was March 2009. Both going from Portland to Chicago and each time I was put on sleeper not facing the Columbia River!

I plan to ride this route once more and want to see the Columbia River on my sleeper.

I rode Empire Builder on sleeper twice already. The last time was March 2009. Both going from Portland to Chicago and each time I was put on sleeper not facing the Columbia River!

I plan to ride this route once more and want to see the Columbia River on my sleeper.