Booking website

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

Tom Booth

Service Attendant
Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
156
I've been away from the Amtrak site for a few months. Now I see that it's changed their booking format. It seems that on a multiple train trip you can't see departure and arrival times for individual segments while booking. Am I doing something wrong? I like to know how much wiggle room there is while changing trains before I actually book.
 

AmtrakBlue

Conductor
Gathering Team Member
Joined
May 6, 2011
Messages
11,685
I've been away from the Amtrak site for a few months. Now I see that it's changed their booking format. It seems that on a multiple train trip you can't see departure and arrival times for individual segments while booking. Am I doing something wrong? I like to know how much wiggle room there is while changing trains before I actually book.
Under Arrive Times, there's a link for details. Click on that and a drop down will appear showing the segments, including connection times. (this is similar t what I see when I look for flights with connections)
 

Tom Booth

Service Attendant
Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
156
Under Arrive Times, there's a link for details. Click on that and a drop down will appear showing the segments, including connection times. (this is similar t what I see when I look for flights with connections)
Thanks. Missed that arrow. It's still another unnecessary step. Used to just post the times.
 

AmtrakBlue

Conductor
Gathering Team Member
Joined
May 6, 2011
Messages
11,685
Thanks. Missed that arrow. It's still another unnecessary step. Used to just post the times.
Though it saves space/scrolling on the website - at least for those who travel on the NEC to get to the LD trains. :)
 

SanAntonioClyde

Service Attendant
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
200
On a similar subject, I'm a little upset with how long the Amtrak app takes to boot up on my phone, are others having similar experience?
 

Tom Booth

Service Attendant
Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
156
Another thing about new site is that I can't get the train status to work. Every time I click on it a blue line appears but it's not interactive. When I try to enter a train it reverts to original default. Anybody else experience this?
 

AmtrakBlue

Conductor
Gathering Team Member
Joined
May 6, 2011
Messages
11,685
Another thing about new site is that I can't get the train status to work. Every time I click on it a blue line appears but it's not interactive. When I try to enter a train it reverts to original default. Anybody else experience this?
I just tried both by train # and by stations and it worked fine for me for both. By Stations is the default. Were you by chance entering the train number instead of a station?
 

Tom Booth

Service Attendant
Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
156
I just tried both by train # and by stations and it worked fine for me for both. By Stations is the default. Were you by chance entering the train number instead of a station?
It would't let me enter anything
 

Devil's Advocate

Conductor
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
11,355
This is what I currently see when I browse to amtrak.com on my laptop. Looks like they sell credit cards for Corona treatments? No mention of trains or schedules or transportation.

AmtrakWebHilarious.PNG
 

Devil's Advocate

Conductor
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
11,355
If I scroll down I get this...
ThisMustBeAJoke.PNG
Floating toggles randomly covering other options and it looks like the only way to close the credit card advertising is to [Apply Now]...nope, even that doesn't close it. I'm sure with enough poking around I can find a way to work around this interface, but what about people who aren't already married to passenger rail and don't have much familiarity with the booking process? Expecting new customers to jump through a series of clumsy website problems just to price a ticket is not a rational path to success. I realize many of Amtrak's problems come from external factors beyond their control, but issues like this are self-inflicted.

ETA: It looks like some desktop browsers are receiving the mobile site by mistake. Or rather, they're all being directed to the mobile site initially and some are getting stuck there while others are redirected back to the desktop site. I don't recall seeing this specific issue in the past.
 
Last edited:

Qapla

OBS Chief
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
924
This is what I see when the site comes up

1591211022991.png


The credit card ad is a banner that stays at the bottom of the screen while I scroll


I would imagine that your screen resolution may have an impact on just how much of the main interface you see ... especially with the "Corona Update" being so large
 

Devil's Advocate

Conductor
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
11,355
I would imagine that your screen resolution may have an impact on just how much of the main interface you see ... especially with the "Corona Update" being so large
I'm using the standard recommended settings for this laptop and every other site displays just fine.

ResolutionWithAmtrak.PNG
As I mentioned above I believe I'm seeing a mobile template being displayed in a desktop browser, but I'm not sure why that would be the case unless its a mistake. Or maybe we were all wrong and Amtrak is skipping the wannabe airline stage on its way to becoming another credit card portal. 🙃
 

Chey

Lead Service Attendant
AU Supporter
Joined
Sep 27, 2014
Messages
474
I've been away from the Amtrak site for a few months. Now I see that it's changed their booking format. It seems that on a multiple train trip you can't see departure and arrival times for individual segments while booking. Am I doing something wrong? I like to know how much wiggle room there is while changing trains before I actually book.
I'm wondering about the "multiple trains" too. If it's one of Amtrak's options for a trip on the results screen, doesn't Amtrak then guarantee the connections? I'm getting that option on a trip I want to book, connecting two trains, one arriving at the connecting station just over an hour before the scheduled departing time of the connecting train. If it's not a guaranteed connection then I may be better off booking the second train separately on the following day.
 

trainman74

Conductor
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
1,608
I suspect any issues with the website that are occurring today, Wednesday, June 3, are related to this situation:



There's a major power outage affecting portions of Pennsylvania and New Jersey. I don't know how the power outage might directly affect the website (it would depend on where it's hosted and how traffic is being routed to it), but it could certainly be due to everyone having to temporarily use the website rather than calling.

Obligatory question, of course, is... what if they had a second call center location in a place not being affected by this power outage? Someplace like -- to pick a city totally at random -- Riverside, California.
 

Devil's Advocate

Conductor
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
11,355
If I shrink my fonts below 100% I can see something similar to what AmtrakBlue and Qapla posted, but holy cow the top banner is still a humongous waste of space and between that and the advertising bar you only get a tiny sliver of functional booking area to work with. I'm sorry but this is very disappointing and it's easily the least efficient website in my bookmark list. If you're trying to actually plan and book future travel Amtrak.com makes it feel like a clumsy afterthought. If you just want to view some static Pinterest style ads and nags on your way to signing up for another credit card then I'm sure it's fine.
 

AmtrakBlue

Conductor
Gathering Team Member
Joined
May 6, 2011
Messages
11,685
I suspect any issues with the website that are occurring today, Wednesday, June 3, are related to this situation:



There's a major power outage affecting portions of Pennsylvania and New Jersey. I don't know how the power outage might directly affect the website (it would depend on where it's hosted and how traffic is being routed to it), but it could certainly be due to everyone having to temporarily use the website rather than calling.

Obligatory question, of course, is... what if they had a second call center location in a place not being affected by this power outage? Someplace like -- to pick a city totally at random -- Riverside, California.
The issues reported above about the website and train status were made well before the storm came through (it hit Philly around 1 pm) that took out the power at the call center - and is causing major delays both east and west of Philly.
 

Qapla

OBS Chief
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
924
I'm sorry but this is very disappointing and it's easily the least efficient website in my bookmark list. If you're trying to actually plan and book future travel Amtrak.com makes it feel like a clumsy afterthought.
Well Said!
 
Top