Chase Credit Card Points

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trainmans daughter

OBS Chief
Forgive me if this has been discussed before, as I suspect it has. I'm new to figuring out AGR points, so I'll probably repeat other topics in the future.

My question today is this: My mother-in-law recently got an Amtrak Chase card with the intention of transferring her points to me. However, she just noticed the small print says "Points earned are not transferrable........." So does this mean she can't give me her points? I so, is there any way she can give me her points earned through that card?

Thanks, Ryan. So what did they mean that points are not transferable? And what do you mean to use her points to redeem an award in my name? How does that work? (See, I told you I was new at this AGR stuff)!

The points can be transferred to another account, but there is a cost involved. (There is also a yearly limit of 10,000 AGR points that you can receive.) Or you can redeem an award from your account, and issue it in anybody's name, and there is no cost! It doesn't matter if your MIL redeems an award for herself, you, her friend or me (no I don't want an award) - there is still no cost!

So the option is

1. Have her transfer 10,000 a year to you for say $100 - I'm not sure what the cost is without looking, or
  2. Have her accumulate enough points in her own AGR account to redeem a (say) 35,000 point award, and have it issued in your name for $-0-!