Chicago to Wenatchee WA on the Empire Builder

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

hankster211

Train Attendant
Newbie here, hello everyone!

Haven't been on Amtrak since 1994 and have a few questions. In mid-June my wife and I are planning on driving from Knoxville TN to Chicago, then travelling the Empire Builder

from Chicago to Wenatchee WA (140 miles East of Seattle) to visit my daughter at her new home.

I have been checking the Amtrak site and I notice that we can travel from Chi all the way to WEN on Empire Builder #7, but the site says "No Checked Baggage"...........

or we can travel EB #27 from Chi to Spokane and are allowed checked baggage, but then in Spokane change to #7 to Wenatchee with "No checked Baggage".

I have read enough to know that the train splits in Spokane to provide service to Portland and Seattle, but don't understand why we can't have checked baggage on #7.

As a youth I made many train trips on Southern Railways and L&N, and since my daughter is now living in a town along an Amtrak Route, I am taking this opportunity

to relive overnight train travel from my old days. We plan on booking a roomette.

All advice and tips for this trip will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Hank