Comparing Piedmont to Silver Star and Carolinian Trains

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a newbie here and have a few questions.

Background: My family is going to take the train from the Raliegh area to Washington DC. My kids are 13 and 10 and typically well behaved. I've taken the Piedmont train from Raleigh to the Charlotte area several times so I'm familiar with the service on that train. I was very happy with the coach seating on the trips and would be fine with it for the upcoming trip. After reading through several of the discussions here I'm not sure if I'm comparing apples to apples. So to my questions:

Is coach on the Piedmont (73/74) trains the same as coach on the Silver Star (91/92) or Carolinan (79/80) trains? I had plenty of room on the Piedmont, the cloth seats were comfortable, and they had tray tables and leg rests on the seats in front. I've read about different models of coaches and would like to know what they use on the Piedmont vs. the other two trains. Should I expect the same level of comfort?

I've been trying to decide whether to upgrade to business class on the trip to DC on the Carolinian. We try to keep our kids seen but not heard. One of the best ways is with movies on computer or portable DVD player. Access to power would be a key consideration. How available is power in coach? How reliable are the ports in both classes...will they actually work?

Finally, a 13 year old boy can be expected to be hungry every 10-15 minutes. :) What kind of food is in the snack car on the Carolinian? I would expect more on the Silver Star with a dining car and lounge. Is it possible to get off the train at any of the stops for meals?

Thanks for the info.

The coach is different between these trains.