Complete Novice Questions about Family Trip from San Jose to Tacoma

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
F

Familyoffour

Hi all,

We are a family of four with a 5 and an 8 year old who is considering a one-way trip from San Jose to Tacoma (or vice-versa) on the Coast Starlight on a visit to family (we would fly the other way). This isn't something I've thought about before but looking at the Family Bedroom setup and knowing my kids at this age I think they might really enjoy it.

At this point I have a few question, but in larger part I don't know what I don't know so if there are other things I should be considering or good overall guides to read please let me know!

1. Has Amtrak announced anything about when things might be more normal covid-wise? Using the dining car seems like a big part of this experience and I probably would want to wait until that was part of things again.

2. Is wifi a thing on this train? I've read conflicting reports.

3. Looking 2-7 months in the future the price I've seen for the Family Bedroom is pretty consistently $1325 for this route. Is this a good price? Is there much variation in prices or do they tend to be pretty constant? Are there discounts I should be looking for?

4. Any insider tips for things we should do or that the kids would get a kick out of?

Thanks for all your help!

1. Traditional dining should resume June 30th. The Sightseer Lounge with its downstairs cafe is open, though right now upstairs seating is subject to social distancing restrictions and masks are required whenever you are not in your room. No one knows when mask and social distancing requirements might be lifted. Per current Federal regulations, mask requirements will be in force through mid September.