Countersuits in Nevada crossing crash

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
The Sharks are in the water as the meter runs! :rolleyes: As the old saying went: 'I Love the Smell of Money!!" :angry:

I'm no lawyer but believe this may be part of Legal Stratergy that leads to Limited Liability or even Bankruptcy?? Perhaps one of our Attorney Members has the dope on this! :help:

Last edited by a moderator:
That is so absurd. Sounds like this will be a long battle for the courts.

What an absurd idea!! Everybody knows that the train has the preference because it cannot and has not to stop at grade crossings. In many countries the basic rules for rail crossings are STOP LOOK LISTEN and then cross. Imagine if the trucking company wins.... every 5000t train hast to stop at every road crossing....hahhahaahah and watch out for speeding truck drivers.....

The Sharks are in the water as the meter runs! :rolleyes: As the old saying went: 'I Love the Smell of Money!!" :angry:

I'm no lawyer but believe this may be part of Legal Stratergy that leads to Limited Liability or even Bankruptcy?? Perhaps one of our Attorney Members has the dope on this! :help:
Countersuits are standard legal strategy in lawsuits. Purpose can be to provide reasons to request additional depositions & discovery and also put some pressure to settle rather than drag it out in court proceedings.

The problem that I see with the countersuit: is there a leg to stand on? Nope.

...somebody needs a frivilous suit ruling against them, and their attorney could do with a good contempt charge from an irate judge.

The fact that the other trucks in the convoy were able to stop in plenty of time pretty much blows a hole in that case.