Dinner eastbound on the Empire Builder out of PDX

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have a train trip coming up next week, and part of it is on the EB eastbound out of Portland. What will be my dinner choices? I will be traveling in a Roomette to the Izaak Walton Inn in Essex, MT, and this is my first time traveling this EB segment. I know the dining car travels eastbound out of Seattle, and becomes available to the PDX passengers only after the PDX cars are attached to the Seattle train at Spokane in the middle of the night. BTW, this is only my second trip in a sleeper. I'm getting too old for overnight in Coach! Thanks for your help. :D

Has there been any consistency in this practice or is this another example of Amtrak inconsistency? The two times I traveled on 27 a few years ago, sleeping car passengers went to the café, obtained their breakfast and ate it in the lounge car. However friends have told me that on their trips the sleeping car attendants served all of the meals in the sleeper.

Thanks for your help, Yarrow and AmtrakBlue. I'm particularly interested in the menu choices. I cannot find it anywhere on Amtrak's website. I prefer to eat mostly vegetarian, with seafood occasionally. No beef, pork, or chicken for me, thanks. Would I have to request a special meal?

I would suggest that you bring your own meal just to be safe. I have not travelled on 28 eastbound from Portland but I know that the breakfast choices on 27 heading west to Portland are pretty limited. Both times I travelled on 27 the breakfast comes in a plastic tray package and consists, to the best of my memory, of an unheated croissant with ham and cheese, some yogurt, a muffin and some fruit.

OK, thanks, Rasputin. I may just get some take-out at PDX before departure.