historical info needed: Amtrak collision @ Sellers, SC - ca. 1977

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
The engineer on Amtrak 90, the Palmetto, was Joseph Brown {Brownie) Thames, as stated. Also in the cab were Trainmaster W. C. (Carl) Wheeler, from Rocky Mount, NC, and Parnell Vann, a shop superintendent, also from Rocky Mount. I cannot recall the name of the fireman, who survived the crash. The Messrs. Wheeler and Vann had riddent the "Circus Train" from Rocky Mount to Florence the night before and were on their way back home.

At the time of the accident, I was a Special Agent in the Property Protection Department (railroad police) at Rocky Mount. This accident was covered by personnel from our office at Florence as it was in their jurisdiction.

Fred Holdsworth -