Included meals for sleeper passengers

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

dinnerindiner

I'm new to all of this, but hope to take my first Amtrak trip sometime in 2010 if possible. I will probably be traveling on the Crescent from Charlottesville to New Orleans, in either a bedroom or a roomette. Just curious, for sleeping car passengers, how do the meals on this (or any) Amtrak train work? What I mean is, I know that in this example, breakfast (the next morning after boarding) and then also lunch and dinner would be included enroute to New Orleans. Are there set times for each, is it first come first served, and how does ordering/tipping work for sleeping car passengers?

Breakfast is usually first come first served.

For lunch and supper the dining car supervisor will come through the train taking reservations.

You will be assigned a time slot for your reservation. An announcement is made on the P.A. when it is

time for your time slot to come to the dining car.

You can also eat in your room and the car attendant will bring the food to you.

Tipping is optional. I usually tip the waiter as though it were a regular restaurant. For the sleeping car attendant I usually tip $20 (except for the one who didn't get anything).

The sleeping car attendant will give you a briefing shortly after you board explaining how everything works.

Breakfast is usually first come first served.For lunch and supper the dining car supervisor will come through the train taking reservations.

You will be assigned a time slot for your reservation. An announcement is made on the P.A. when it is

time for your time slot to come to the dining car.

You can also eat in your room and the car attendant will bring the food to you.