Luggage full size (but within size restrictions)

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Steve P

First time traveling from New Haven CT to Miami FL. Amtrak’s website states “woven fabric zipper luggage” is unacceptable. I have an expensive heavy duty fabric zipper suitcase. Can anyone confirm that my luggage would be unacceptable? Thank you!

First time traveling from New Haven CT to Miami FL. Amtrak’s website states “woven fabric zipper luggage” is unacceptable. I have an expensive heavy duty fabric zipper suitcase. Can anyone confirm that my luggage would be unacceptable? Thank you!
I don't know. I've been traveling with this since 2008 or so:

20200305_085414.jpg

Now, I've never checked this as baggage on Amtrak (though I have on several airlines), but I've had no trouble with it as carry-on luggage. I also have a big fabric gear bag with zipper closures that I use to pack snowshoes and winter gear that I have checked as luggage on Amtrak several times. Also, I've checked zip-up nylon duffle bags as well on both Amtrak and various airlines.

I guess you are referring to The Amtrak "packing your luggage" page.

I normally carry one or two LL Bean rolling duffle bags which are made of woven nylon and have zippers and it has never been a problem. I see lots of similar bags on the trains, and don't remember ever seeing anything that said they aren't allowed.