Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

enviro5609

Train Attendant
Hi all,

Just posting an introduction. I'm an attorney who works in the public sector. Public infrastructure and services are both a professional and personal interest of mine-- although my work has nothing to do with trains specifically.

I've never really considered Amtrak for long distance travel until the pandemic. Now, with work from home, it just makes more sense to travel in a sleeper. I can work en route, save a vacation day, and not deal with the airport/TSA. In a way the extra cost pays for itself. I wish Amtrak would take notice and market this better. Work from home is here to stay, for many.

The only downside of Amtrak as a WFH solution is that there's no WIFI on the trains, and on the Western routes, long stretches will little or no cell coverage either. Myself, I see that as a way to unplug for awhile in a world that expects us to be 24/7 365 available, but it might cramp your style if work requires Internet access.

Yes, I'm east coast based, and all of the long distance trains I've been on have had WiFi/decent enough cell reception during working hours-- at least on the first day. Its enough to send and receive emails, which is all I really need. I haven't tried to do a zoom/video call on it, but I also can just use my work phone as a mobile hotspot if necessary. The onboard WiFI is shared throughout the whole train, so it can bog down if too many people are on it.

I do imagine it is worse out west. Didn't realize there was no WiFI at all on those trains. But I think it would behoove Amtrak to figure that out-- even if its just lower-bandwidth satellite service like on an airplane. Access to email and voice are really the make or break features for WFH.

Last edited: