Riding the Rails in Malaysia and Indonesia Experiences?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
In a couple of weeks I am off to a new part of Southeast Asia for me. I have been through Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia, so I have a pretty good sense of what its like to in and around Southeast Asia. Although I am new to Malaysia and Indonesia. I will be traveling alone, so that means naturally I am trying to create a somewhat rail focused itinerary. I will be in Jakarta, and Kuala Lumpur. I have a few rough ideas of what I am looking to ride, but would appreciate if anyone has any first hand experiences or tips? I can post more information about my intended itinerary if it would help.

Thanks

Steve

I have not been to Malaysia or Indonesia, so cannot advise you. I have ridden rails in Thailand, in 2002, including an overnight sleeper Bangkok to Chiang Mai. A decent dinner was served at our seats and I had the soundest night's sleep on a train in the lower berth that I have ever experienced! After reading your recent foray, albeit non-rail, into North Korea, I look forward to reading about your next venture. Enjoy.

In Malaysia, KL to Butterworth is definitely worth it. I am told that the north east is pretty but is also relatively unsafe. Maybe things have changed there. I have traveled from JB (Johore Bahru) all the way to the Thai border at Padang Besar and enjoyed it.

Thanks JIS. Looks like Buttersworth would make a nice day trip. I also sketched out some plans to ride some stuff on the commuter end of the spectrum. Although their website is really a complete dog.

In Indonesia I am all booked up on the 500 mile mile trip from Surabya into Jakarta. That should be an interesting day, and will really let me see a good portion of Java.

Sounds a great trip!