sleeper pax - free drinks in lounge car?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

D.P. Roberts

Conductor
I've never heard of this before, but over on one of the Facebook groups someone claimed that sleeper passengers (according to their SCA) were allowed to get free soft drinks in the lounge car. Is this true?

Some years ago they had free soft drinks available in the sleeping cars in the little cans/bottles. Those have been gone a long time. Never in the lounge car, and I have been riding regularly since Amtrak began.

Zephy17's answer is correct. I've been riding regularly since 1970's and while soft drinks use to be available in the sleeping car, they have never been free in the lounge cars.

An exception due to extraordinary circumstances like an extremely delayed train, or a train that joins another with a diner that is so late as to miss a meal can cause special things to happen, like KFC or Amstew, but a casual rider might have mistaken that "one off" as a norm. On many trains, BC passengers (not sleeper) do get comp soft drinks, but they would not have heard it from an SCA.

An exception due to extraordinary circumstances like an extremely delayed train, or a train that joins another with a diner that is so late as to miss a meal can cause special things to happen, like KFC or Amstew, but a casual rider might have mistaken that "one off" as a norm. On many trains, BC passengers (not sleeper) do get comp soft drinks, but they would not have heard it from an SCA.
Is it safe assuming all TA-SC (SCA) know that?