Slumbercoach interiors

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pebbleworm

Lead Service Attendant
Periodically the topic of slumbercoaches comes up, and there aren't many good pictures of the interiors available on the web. Ozark Mountain Railcar has a couple of distressed examples available, so you can get the grand tour at:

http://www.ozarkmountainrailcar.com/detail.asp?id=503&n=Loch-Rannock

and

http://www.ozarkmountainrailcar.com/detail.asp?id=504&n=Loch-Locky

Click the "view gallery" button to see all! Pink fiberglass, formica, claustrophobic hallways and the dreaded in room toilet with a view of the tracks. When I rode in slumbercoaches in the early 1980s as a college student I loved them- the difficult part was getting my spacey parents to let me book the room early enough, since from Chicago to NYC they were usually sold out for xmas well before Halloween. Whether Amtrak loved them as much I cannot say, but having to change linens for 1.5X the base coach fare must not have been a real moneymaker...

They are not completely gone. Slumbercoach (Amtrak 2092) is here in Atlanta at the Southeastern Railway Museum. It's kind of cool walking around in it and seeing the small rooms again. The Crescent (Amtrak) had one between Atlanta and New York for awhile so it seemed fitting that one is at the museum here in Atlanta.

Also, the one here in Atlanta is in better shape than the ones in those photos.

Last edited by a moderator:
They are not completely gone. Slumbercoach (Amtrak 2092) is here in Atlanta at the Southeastern Railway Museum. It's kind of cool walking around in it and seeing the small rooms again. The Crescent (Amtrak) had one between Atlanta and New York for awhile so it seemed fitting that one is at the museum here in Atlanta.