Speaking of "ADA" related complaints.

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TVRM610

Conductor
So I'm on the City of New Orleans and a group of 4 deaf ladies traveling together missed out on eating in the diner because they didn't hear the announcements. I don't know all the details...

Just pieced together the story from watching in the lounge car. But they never did get to eat in the diner (and they waited very patiently). It made me very sad. Obviously they could get something in the lounge but if I was a lawyer i would be talking to them right now.

The dining car crew was actually really nice so I'm not sure what happened but like I said... Made me very sad.

Wonder if they notified Amtrak that they'd need assistance if even only by using the disability discount which, I assume, would be noted on the manifest.

I'm not defending Amtrak, but do know that hearing people can be ignorant of deafness & if they did not let it be known they would need assistance, then I don't see it as a violation of ADA.

I flew two different airlines in the past 2 years and noted by deafness/hoh on my reservation. Both accommodated me at the gate when told them I would not be able to hear announcements (I was allowed to pre-board). But only one of the airline's FAs acknowledged me on the plane & asked if I needed assistance.

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm not sure how they communicated to the staff...

It could very well be the staff did not understand the situation.

I agree it's not really a ADA violation but still something that should have been handled smoother.

Every time I eat in an Amtrak diner I realize how it really doesn't work. I think the CCC idea was a great concept but really never put into practice the way it was designed.