Switching from one track gauge to another

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dadonatrain

Service Attendant
I have no rail experience at all other than riding as a passenger. So I want to know how any railroad would accomplish something I read today about shipping weapons from Slovakia or Poland, etc., to Ukraine.

Apparently the rails in Slovakia, Poland, and other Western European countries are a different gauge than Russian rails. I guess I knew that. I did not know, however, that rails in Ukraine match Russian gauge. I guess, thinking about it, I’m not surprised.

Apparently there is a Slovakian city near the border with Ukraine that has a rail yard with rails of both gauges. So rail cars of western gauge carrying weapons systems, or anything for that matter, bound for Ukraine can be switched to cars with Ukrainian/Russian gauge.

How do they do that? Would a car have two sets of wheels on one axle? Would they pick a car up off one set of trucks and set it onto the other size set? I’m just curious.

The most common way is to detach the trucks, jack up the cars, slip out the trucks of one gauge, slip in trucks of the other gauge, drop the cars onto them and attach them and off they go.

For freight though, they might just tranship them from cars of one gauge to cars of the other gauge too.

Last edited:
The most common way is to detach the trucks, jack up the cars, slip out the trucks of one gauge, slip in trucks of the other gauge, drop the cars onto them and attach them and of they go.

For freight though, they might just tranship them from cars of one gauge to cars of the other gauge too.
Thx.