Tom's rail trips #1 - The Missouri River Runner

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

siberianmo

Service Attendant
Hello,

Thought I would add some travel report-type chat to this forum. So many threads so little time . . .

Anyway, on March 28th I resumed my cross-Missouri round trips aboard Amtrak's Missouri River Runner for a full day and early night journey aboard #311 (westbound) and #316 for the return. Amtrak operates two trains daily, a morning and late afternoon train each way.

I have been traveling that route since the very early 1990's, amassing on average around 10 round trips per year - mostly all on the same day; 5 hours out/5 hours back with about an hour layover in Kansas City.

My trips are in Business Class (formerly known as Custom Class back when Dinosaurs prowled the Earth) and when the Cafe car is at the end of the consist, it simply makes my day. Just thoroughly enjoy snapping of fotos through the rear vestibule door. Seen those scenes so many times over the decades I am beginning to think there is something wrong with me!!

There are 10 stations along the route - counting St. Louis and Kansas City - and the rail distance one way is 283 miles.

My station is Kirkwood, MO the first stop just west of downtown St. Louis. Amazing how I still get a kick out of the sound of the approaching train. Down go the gates as the train rounds the bend for the Kirkwood approach . . .

My trips are sandwiched into daylight savings months for I do not enjoy returning in mostly dark conditions. While I usually sit in the café section gabbing away with crew and others, I prefer glancing out at the passing scenery.

The trip was largely uneventful in terms of OTP and the rest. Having traveled that route so often with many crew now friends and acquaintances, the time really passes quickly.