Question related to train speed, passenger safety and control...

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi I am trying to understand correct terminology, how speed works, control of train speed, and passenger safety based on May 2001 CSX 8888 incident where a train was uncontrolled (yes i know it didn't have passengers) but I'm curious how that might relate to Amtrak trains. Forgive my total newbie mind here. Hoping you veterans can chime in. Thank you kindly.

1. What does the driver do to speed up a train? (push a lever, press a button, apply his foot to some pedal and whats the correct terminology?)

2. Is there a button or lever that must be engaged to apply brakes and stop the locomotive and cars connected?

3. Is the driver the ONLY one who can stop the train or are 2 others ways ( i.e 1. the system will recognize after 10,15,30mins that the driver hasn't pushed a button, pressed on something so it concludes hes not there and automatically brakes? 2. There is a train traffic control command post who can remotely stop it from their computer?)

4. If a locomotive couldn't be stopped. For safety could the driver DISCONNECT the passenger cars from the locomotive? And is it as simple as pulling a lever between the cars and locomotive?

5. What do train drivers prefer to be called "train driver, engine driver, enginerman or locomotive driver, or engineer? and are there more than one driver on an amtrak at any given time (ie. 2 are always present just in case one has a heart attack?)

I'm not good at this for as long as I've been a member here, but here goes. Believe me, anything wrong I post will be promptly corrected. :)

1. The throttle is controlled by a lever. There are 'notches' that the throttle sets in to control the max speed.