Upper Level Coach Seat vs Lower Level Coach Seat

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cav1865

Train Attendant
Again, I am new to Amtrak. I am posting again with another question about the value-added of getting a lower-level coach seat versus an upper level coach seat. One of the obvious answers, of course, is the lower level doesn't require stairs. I am also assuming the lower level, being closer to the restroom, would be more convenient. The on-line car diagrams also seem to indicate if a passenger wants to move from one car to another (to the lounge or to the dining car) being on the lower level would be more convenient.

How about comfort of the ride? Noise level? Would being closer to the restroom mean contending with more passenger traffic?

Again, I welcome your counsel from your experiences.

Thank-you.

Being on the lower level is indeed closer to the restrooms, and you'll have less foot traffic going by. There will be less sway, but more noise from the track, since you're closer to the track. The view will be better from the upper level and you must be on the upper level to pass from one car to the next. You cannot do that from the lower level.

On the other hand, the upper level has more sway and less track noise, but you'll have far more foot traffic or people walking by as they pass from car to car.

Aloha

I am surprised how often this question comes up. And AlanB has provided a perfect answer.

Mahalo

Some say that Alan B has a store of canned answers to frequently asked questions and he graciously uses them as required.

On other forums, nasty folks just respond "Read the FAQ, dummy" but here Alan answers nicely.

Thank You Alan

Some say that Alan B has a store of canned answers to frequently asked questions and he graciously uses them as required.