Why not use a proven signal system on new hsr routes?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
IMHO a lot of time and money have been spent developing and testing signaling systems on the chi-stl route and chi-det route. Wouldn't it have been cheaper/easier to use the ACES system used on the NEC?

No, because then the politically connected company who got the job wouldn't get their graft, which was the whole point of the exercise.

I was exploring technical aspects, not political. As a Chicago resident I'm well aware of how politics fouls up any process. I was trying to find out if it was technically possible to implement this system outside the NEC.

Gml. That's the question I'm asking here. Why would you ask me that question when I've just stated that I don't know. I try to be respectful and supportive of your posts and pov. If you can't add anything here, leave it alone.

I wasn't disregarding your post at all, Steve. The only reasons standing in its way of using ACES are political, and possibly the freight railroads, who might have to spend more money refitting their power to be ACES compatible.

In Judeo English phrasing "why not" can mean "Sure, I can't think of a reason why that wouldn't happen/work". That was the way I meant it.

I could be mistaken (I'm basing this entirely off memory), but wasn't the original idea behind the various systems being tested CHI-STL and CHI-DET an attempt to find a cheaper alternative that could be relatively easily overlaid on whatever the existing system was? Seems like it's been a very slow (well over a decade now, right?) roll-out that has had lots of stops and starts.