"Zombie" AGR accounts!

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

D.P. Roberts

Conductor
Many people I know are interested in taking an Amtrak trip, but are reluctant to do so because of the cost. I often recommend that they set up an AGR account & start earning points for shopping, to at least get them started on earning points toward a free trip. Earlier this week I realized that's not such a good idea.

I mentioned this in another thread, but I'll retell my story here just in case. I have an AGR Mastercard linked with my AGR account, and my wife has an AGR account in her name too, with no credit card. Between the points we earn on the credit card, Points for Shopping, and the bonus points-buying opportunities, we've managed to take a long-distance train trip every summer for the past few years without actually buying a ticket. So, although she signed up when we took our first trip back in 2007, she hasn't traveled on a purchased ticket since then.

Last June (2014) AGR offered a point-buying bonus: 50% extra points when you purchase 10,000 points. I had already purchased some points on my account this year, so I was not eligible for the 50% bonus on my account, so we decided to buy 10,000 points on my wife's account, & use them on our trip next summer.

All well and good - until she got her October 2014 AGR statement. Her balance had dropped from 15,000 points to zero. We've e-mailed and spoken to Amtrak several times this week, and finally straightened everything out, but here's the point: since she hasn't traveled on a purchased ticket since 2007, her account basically "expired" in 2010 (36 months after her last paid trip).