First trip

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
This is my first time posting here. I have planned a trip on the Capitol Limited for me and my daughter. She is 12 and in the 6th grade. I have booked a roomette sleeper. We are leaving Chicago on March 25th and come back on April 2nd. We are going to Delaware to visit my family there. Other than the local Metra train this will be our first experiance with train travel. Both me and my daughter are really looking forward to it. I have read several travelouges and have some idea what to expect. If my daughter and I like it we may take the Zepher out to San Fran next year to visit her godfather. I am curious though on how the dining works. We depart chicago at 5:30 at night. Do they start dinner shortly after that? Do we have to make reservations ahead of time or when we get on the train? Also if someone could give me ideas about tipping I would greatly appreciate it. Also my tickets say that I am in car 3000 room 3 for the tripout. Is room 3 on an upper level or lower level? Any and all info would be great. I am really hoping for this to be not only time for my oldest and me to spend time together (mom and younger sister didn't want to go) but a great way for her to see this great country of ours.

Lot's of questions, I'll try to tackle them as best as I can.

First off when you arrive in Chicago head to the Metropolitan Lounge which is towards the back of the station (between the north and south concourse on the ground). Here you will be able to chack in and relax in a comfortable quiet environment. They also have complimentary drinks and light snacks in the room.