ticket question

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Clíodhna

hey all,

I posted a topic here awhile back asking for some feedback about the train service from NYC to LA. i was planning to take the train from nyc to la and fly back but, thanks in part to the responese i got from this borad, my plans have now chanaged. some friends and i are going to take three weeks off and go across country and back by train. Im an international student here and someone on this borad told me 2 look for tickets for international travelers. amtrack offers a ticket for international travelers that for either 15 or 30 days allows them unlimited travel. unfortunatly 2 of the people im traveling with are american and cant buy this ticket.

I was hoping someone could help us figure out what the best option for us is. should we buy their tickets for the whole trip together or for each stage? The current route we're thinking of taking is from nyc to seattle [sp?] then down to san fran then to la then down and across to new orleans and back to nyc staying one maybe two days in san fran and new orleans. our group is made up entirely of art students who want to draw and photograph the route along the way so any suggestions about the route are welcome. also im not sure when and were we should book tickets if we're planning the trip for may.

luv and bubbles,

clíodhna

Clíodhna,

I'm glad you decided to take three weeks vacation and travel across America by train. To answer your question though, you do not have to be an international travler to purchase a 30-day rail pass.

An American citizen can purchase what is called the North America Rail Pass, which allows one the freedom to travel anywhere in the United States or Canada aboard Amtrak or VIA Rail for 30 days. For info on this pass click here.