Total Newby arrival

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm re-posting the introduction part of my first post because I mistakenly included a question so it got merged elsewhere. Apologies for the mistake

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi, happy to join this forum. As my screen name suggests I live in AZ and am a novice, both to this forum and Amtrak. In fact the word novice vastly overstates my knowledge level on both this forum, this is my first post - and Amtrak, just booked my first trip. It is a roundtrip from Flagstaff AZ to St. Louis MO. Both ways it involves a change of trains and a layover. Going the layover is Kansas City and returning the layover is Chicago.

This is somewhat of an experimental trip, for me. I've reached a point due to age, mobility, and discomfort that my flying days are over. This trip is to see if trains can give me travelling options. I've made it eclectic in my accomodations. Going, the long 26 hour leg will be in a sleeper car, a Roomette. The short 6 hour leg will be coach. Coming back, the short leg will be in business class, and the long 30 hour leg will be in coach. There were no sleepers available for that 30 hour leg, and I think that might be a blessing in disguise, as I will find out how I will handle a long leg in a seat rather than a bed. It doesn't daunt me because a few years ago I had to sleep in a recliner for medical reasons and it was no problem.

If it works well a whole new world of modestly priced travel opens up to me. I'm excited about that.