Total Novice--w/3 yo PHL-CHI!!

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I am a complete novice to Amtrak, but am using it to get from Philadelphia to Chicago and back, just me and my 3-year-old. I am nervous about whether she will sleep or not, and what we can do if she won't! Is there a lounge type car open 24hrs where she wouldn't disturb anyone? Are the coach seats at all comfortable? How do I find out if my train has business or first class, and how do I upgrade if so? The sleeper cars would be something like $675 RT, totally out of my price range. Is there vegetarian food available in the dining car? What is the name of this train route, and which type of car can I expect to be in? Is smoking allowed, and if so are there public spaces where it is NOT allowed? When you get up from your seat, do you pretty much have to haul all of your carry-on bags with you or risk having something stolen, or are people generally comfortable leaving all but valuables in the luggage racks while dining, going to the bathroom, etc? Help me, I have so many questions! I want to know everything I can before I get on board!

Could you tell us what train numbers and dates you will be traveling on ? This will help us answer your questions better.

Air5K,

Well if you're leaving from Philly, then most likely you'll be on the Three Rivers. That's the only train that runs directly from Philly to Chicago.

Now to your questions. Technically the lounge car is not open all night, however if your daughter were up and making noise, I suspect that the crew might let you hang out there for a while.

I've personally never traveled long distance in the coach seats, however they are amoungst the most comfortable seats around. Much better than anything you'll find on an airplane.