WE ARE NOT CATTLE!!!

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
W

westwoodsct.com

Open letter to Rell, Blumenthal, Amtrak, MTA, SLE:

01/24/2008

Guilford, CT 06437

Dear Stewards of Transportation in CT:

I would like a refund for my Shoreline East Monthly Ticket due to false advertising. Here's why:

I was offered an exciting job in Stamford to get me off the roles of unemployment. I'm a web developer from Guilford. But I do not like to be treated like livestock on the commute, which is what is happening to me and countless others who depend on the trains for their livelyhood.

Before accepting, I check the Shoreline East web site to make sure it was a doable commute. There were a couple of trains that made the commute bearable.

BTW: Rail commuting is nothing new to me. I commuted to New York on Metro North and Shoreline East for 18 months. So I know (or thought I knew) what rail life was like. At least the trains ran where they were supposed to when the equipment was working!

I found the schedule describing the ideal train to Stamford. It was perfect. Got me to work on time and could even go in early. Coming back was tight, timewise but since I could work at at table on the train, and actually get that seat, since the train started in Stamford on the way home, my company didn't mind.

Pricing: Stamford - Guilford Monthly pass -$150 for a monthly pass. GREAT!

Trains: The taxpayers purchased to use for commuting - Wonderful!

Advertised Schedule: Very nice. A little early to catch from Stamford, but company will make exception because I can work on the train.

DAYS JAN 2 - JAN 16 - Everything going great, with some occasional morning lateness. But I still get to work before 9:00. This should be the low goal for quality of life on the rails. It is totally comfortable, almost always a seat for everyone. But trains are full.