West Palm to NY

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Brian Stirling

I may be driving to FL later this week to drop off a car and will therefore need to arrange for transportation to NY. In the past I have always looked towards the sky and taken a plane but this time I'm thinking about taking the train back. BUT, I've never done this before and no nothing about the cost (AMTRAK website is down right now). If I were to leave from West Palm Beach or Okechobee and took it to NYC what is the cost for this and how long does it take?

As I said -- the AMTRAK website is down right now.

Thanks,

Brian

Amtrak Reservation website is up and running.

There are several trains from West Palm Beach, FL (WPB) to NYC (NYP). Most trains are about 14 hours trip, overnight.

Based on this Friday's trip, average cost is about $94-122 for coach class. Sleeper class is about $463 or more, which it includes free meals.

Train schedules from Florida to NYC is flexible for you to choose.

OK, I was able to get onto the website and it looks like the rate, from Okeechobee to NYC is $94 and if I book the standard bedroom it adds another $239 for a total, if I add the bedroom, of $333.

I might like the bedroom but would like to know how comfortable the basic seats are? Do they recline to the point you can actually sleep? Ire the main cars darkened at night or do they keep the same light level all the time? Are the showers available to everyone or are they limited to those with bedrooms? How much do the meals cost? Are all meals covered when you book a bedroom?

I'd prefer not to pay an additional $239, but if sleep is imposible without a bedroom I guess I'll pony up the axtra $239.

I know, I ask a lot of questions? :D :unsure: