A (perhaps less wordy) introduction ;)

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello, (guess we have to all start somewhere) ;)

My unique story on how I got here, lets see. Was born and spent half of my time in the SF Bay Area and Modesto, where the family had a ranch and I could see the freight trains on what's now the BNSF line on the west side of town (near the then Hershey factory in Oakdale). I wasn't that enamored with trains that much as a child, my father was a mechanical engineer by trade and was into amateur auto racer (still does autocross) so that's where my interests centered around (as well as travel & computers). I did spend summers (and my High School years - DHS Class of 91) in Dunsmuir, CA and that's a area (Dunsmuir/Mt Shasta) I truly adore and try to go back to as often as possible. So seeing the Santa Fe/Southern Pacific/Amtrak trains go thru town was a way of life. (although seeing the downgrading of the Dunsmuir Amtrak "terminal" from when I first remembered it in the early 80's was noticeable)

What peaked my interest in trains was traveling in Europe in the late 90's - Mainly in Norway, Germany and the low countries. For various reasons, I never rented a car when in Europe (why when the mass transit is so good?) :p And DB had me hooked traveling thru Germany. I could sit in a ICE train working on my laptop from Frankfurt to Hamburg in comfort in a couple of hours. And that was more convenient than a short haul flight (and this was before 9/11).