Acela WAS-NYP Questions

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

NECRider

Train Attendant
Hello all,

I'm a newbie here on the forum, and a newbie to Amtrak, and I have some questions about the Acela Express. I booked tickets from WAS-NYP on 8-16, a Sunday. Do you guys think that it will be crowded?? It's the 9:00 am out of WAS, and 12 noon on 8-23 out of NYP. Also, should I give myself more time than Amtrak recommends to be at the station (30 mins)??

Thanks in advance,

NECRider

You shouldn't have a problem with the 30 minute warning because both operations are really slick.

If you are going First Class it is even slicker... Maybe then you should take an hour-- just to enjoy the lounges!

You shouldn't have a problem with the 30 minute warning because both operations are really slick.
If you are going First Class it is even slicker... Maybe then you should take an hour-- just to enjoy the lounges!
Is it possible to get bumped up to 1st for free?? Like, could I sweet-talk to an agent and maybe get upgraded?

I have never heard of anyone getting a free upgrade on the Acela to first class.

You should be fine with 30 minutes at the station. If you board in WAS, which is the beginning of the run, they normally start boarding about 10-15 minutes prior to departure. If you get a redcap, you can board first before everyone else, which I always try to do, so I can get a window seat on the water side.

Everytime I ride Acela it is pretty crowded. I have always gotten a seatmate.