Actual arrival time for Seattle to Vancouver BC bus (8900)

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Bhaskar

Hello experienced travelers,

I am new to Amtrak traveling and trying to get some sense on what to expect as we travel to Vancouver BC from Seattle.

Our arrival time is stated as 5:15pm at Vancouver BC (the last leg of this journey is on Bus #8900)

Folks who has taken this route in the past - can they please share their experience on how often the bus arrive in time; or have you had experience arriving late? How late?

I am specifically interested in this specific route as the Hertz counter at the destination closes at 6pm.

So, a little late is ok… :)

Looking forward to get some first hand feedback!

Thanks in anticipation.

-Bhaskar (Portland, OR)

Apparently this bus is operated by Cantrail Coach Lines. They mainaly run Prevost H3-45 coaches. I've never ridden Cantrail before and I haven't ridden the H3-45 much either. The bus should use HOV lanes. Delays will be rare to nonexistent.

You don't have to get a Hertz rentral car the day you arrive, try transit in Vancouver. Goes lots of places and usually fun to ride.

It would depend on traffic and how busy the boarder crossing at Blaine is. Leaving at 145pm is right at the start of the afternoon traffic, also if train 500 from Portland is running late this bus will hold for that train to get in.

Thanks for the quick notes folks!

Our plan is to reach Squamish the same night we reach Vancouver BC - have hotels booked there. Alternate plan is, of course, to spend the night in Vancouver BC (as Swadian has suggested).

Hopng for the best :)

I don't think traffic in the Seattle area will be an issue. You'll be departing well before the worst of the PM rush hour. And I wouldn't