August 1969 I took the Mohawk Airlines cargo shuttle from Boston to Detroit.

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fenway

Lead Service Attendant
AU Supporting Member
In August 1969 as a poor college student, I had an interesting 48-hour experience.

It started with the Mohawk Airlines 'cargo shuttle' that left Boston around 8 PM with stops in Hartford, Albany, Syracuse, Buffalo, Cleveland, and Detroit. With the half-price for young people back then, it was cheap.

I was visiting a college friend who was working overnight at CKLW radio in Windsor

Landed at Detroit Metro around 1 AM and back then Greyhound offered shuttle service to downtown and then I took a cab to Windsor to see my friend.

Crashed at his place, saw a ballgame at Tiger Stadium, and then took the overnight train from Detroit to Chicago.

I was a streetwise kid from Boston but the Michigan Central station was truly frightening that night. The ticket office was closed, and when I boarded the conductor just told me not to worry about the fare.

Union Station Chicago in 1969 was in sad shape as well

Flew back that night to Manchester, NH on Northeast Airlines fr0m Midway.

Interesting. Do you remember what kind of plane Mohawk was using for the cargo run? Some kind of turboprop I suspect. I recall Mohawk had a pretty bad reputation, one of their ex pilots wrote a book about them called "safety last". I guess thing got better when they merged with Allegheny to form US Air.

Interesting. Do you remember what kind of plane Mohawk was using for the cargo run? Some kind of turboprop I suspect. I recall Mohawk had a pretty bad reputation, one of their ex pilots wrote a book about them called "safety last". I guess thing got better when they merged with Allegheny to form US Air.

It was a BAC-111

1648412972518.png