CA Zephyr

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ilovetrains

Train Attendant
I will soon be taking my first train trip on the CZ. We will board in Chicago at 2:00 pm.

My question is: What time will dinner be served. I am trying to cooridinate my schedule for that day in Chicago and need to know if we should eat right before boarding the train or not.

As a newbie, I appreciate your answers!

Generally the first seatings start around 4:45 or 5:00 PM. However there is no guarantee that you will get one of those seats. If the crew is following the SDS plan, then they will seat 8 passengers at 15 minute intervals, skipping every third interval.

So depending on which sleeping car the LSA starts in, you may or may not find the time you prefer available. And since you didn't mention if you were in a sleeping car, I should warn you that if you are in coach, the odds are that by the time the LSA gets to you, the only times left will be 8:00 PM or later.

Additionally you should know that they typically start boarding the train before 2:00 PM, especially if you are in a sleeper. If you are in a sleeper, then you must be back in the Metropolitan Lounge by 1:00 PM, as they could start boarding as early as 1:15 PM.

I will soon be taking my first train trip on the CZ. We will board in Chicago at 2:00 pm.My question is: What time will dinner be served. I am trying to cooridinate my schedule for that day in Chicago and need to know if we should eat right before boarding the train or not.

As a newbie, I appreciate your answers!

Enjoy your meal. Sometimes between breakfast , lunch or dinner you might find the restaurant like here

Last edited by a moderator: