Dash 8 on 370?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pere Flyer

Lead Service Attendant
I'm currently on the 370 (CHI-GRR), and it looks like a Dash 8 is attached to the rear end of the consist, facing backward. From what I gather, Dash 8's are mainly used in rail yard work and don't see full service very often. What would its purpose be on a daytime route? (I'm a novice by AU standards when it comes to train sets, so please correct me if my observations are inaccurate.)

Not unusual to see on the Coast Starlight...usually in the #2 position but sometimes, the leader.

At the same time, its not unusual to see P42's in use on the Pacific Surfliner instead of F59s!

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm currently on the 370 (CHI-GRR), and it looks like a Dash 8 is attached to the rear end of the consist, facing backward. From what I gather, Dash 8's are mainly used in rail yard work and don't see full service very often. What would its purpose be on a daytime route? (I'm a novice by AU standards when it comes to train sets, so please correct me if my observations are inaccurate.)
The dash 8's were purchased to augment the mainline fleet in 1991, and can still pinch hit for a passenger locomotive.

I had to wrap my head around what you're talking about since there are two classes of diesels in use that are technically Dash-8 units. Additionally, The P40s and P32 BWH are both used in road service quite frequently.

As such, I just decided to look at the what you were seeing. It should have been a cabbage on the rear...specifically this one:

hqdefault.jpg

I had to wrap my head around what you're talking about since there are two classes of diesels in use that are technically Dash-8 units. Additionally, The P40s and P32 BWH are both used in road service quite frequently.