Electrical question specific to Amtrak locos

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Crescent ATN & TCL

OBS Chief
I'm currently an ELectrical Engineering student and I can't find an answer to this one anywhere.

What is the return path for current in Amtrak's ELectric locomotives?

In resdidental/commercial/industrial wiring current always returns to the service entrance of the system. Then depending on the system in place its either grounded or connected back to the transformer or transmission lines.

The only two scenarios I can find for rail is grounding the return current to the rail or returning it to the catenary through a separate neutral conductor on the pantograph. If it returns through the rails it could cause signal and crossing gate issues along with a risk of shock to anyone on or near the rail when a locomotive is operating.

I'm pretty sure the rails are considered ground. This is typically the case with overhead electric street cars with a single line. Electric buses with overhead lines can't do that and thus require two overhead lines, which makes things tricky.

The other option is a third rail. I thought that the P32AC could do that when exiting NY Penn Station, but switch to diesel sometime after exiting the tunnel.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amtrak%27s_60_Hz_traction_power_system

At each substation, utility supplied single phase power is transformed and injected into the two electrical sections terminating at that substation. There are eight electrical sections in the system, two for each substation. The substations drive the contact and feed wires in a split phase arrangement so that each wire is at 25 kV with respect to the grounded running rails with 50 kV between them.