Express Trains (Fewer Stops)

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
S

Saluki42

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here and it is due to the fact that my wife got a job in St. Louis but I still have work in Chicago. As a result, rail seems to be the best option in terms of getting back and forth.

That said, I have been very interested in the HSR project and had some questions that some of you might know the answer to.

First, why would they not create of express train that only makes 3 or 4 stops to speed up the trip. If an Amtrak train traveling up to 110mph were to only make stop in Chicago, Springfield, Bloomigton and St. Louis, I don't see why it couldn't make the 284 mile trip in 3 hours or so. I would pay a premium for that and while I am excited about the HSR, I don't see the 4 and half hour trip as something I am willing to pay much more for (tickets are already only $23 bucks).

I read that the project now is supposed to be done live in 2014. Anyone know when they are shooting for in terms of the true bullet trains?

Thanks!

As of right now, and George Harris can probably tell you more about the St. Louis - Chicago line in terms of curvature, there are 4 corridor trains and a long-distance train. The Amtrak P42 is capable of a speed of 110 mph, and is, along with a few others, the fastest diesel locomotive currently in operation in the U.S. To get faster speeds, you have two options: turbines and electrification.

Amtrak has experimented with turbines in 5 different phases: the UA TurboTrain, the ANF Turboliner, and Rohr TurboLiners I, II, and III. The UA turbine was inherited from PennCentral, was briefly toyed with on the Corridor, then shoved into service on a Staggers special, before being retired two years into Amtrak service due to unreliability and an insane appetite for fuel.