Fort Madison questions

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cindylou

Train Attendant
Hi all! Planning a train adventure to LA next winter for another cruise. I think this time we'll drive to FMD(from central Iowa) and catch the SWC from there. It appears from what research I've done that FMD has long term parking (will leave our vehicle there for approx. 3 weeks). Is it a relatively safe area?

Also, is it true that there are no ticketing hours on weekends at FMD? We would probably be going on a Sunday, and don't really live real close to any other stations. And also, no Quik Trak machine? The website says no, the Amtrak Timetable says yes?? I've never used the QuikTrak before...makes me nervous. :giggle: Maybe will just have the tickets mailed.

Really looking forward to this trip...reading this site has us excited about riding the SWC to LA! Only been on it before between Galesburg and Chicago. Sounds like the scenery is great!

Any help will be appreciated!

Cindy

It's a small town- when I lived there I hardly ever locked the door. I've seen cars sit at the depot for a long time. There is not much near the station, so your car won't be very noticeable.Amtrak shares the station with some BNSF operation so there are always people around as well.