Getting into San Francisco by train?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

abcnews

OBS Chief
I have always flown into SF International, so this is my first time to San Francisco on the train. Next month we are taking the Capital Limited from DC to Chicago, then the Southwest Chief to LA. Then (hopefully) we will connect to the Coast Starlight in LA and take that north to either San Jose or Oakland.

I made the reservations on the Coast Starlight to be LA to Oakland (Roomette) - simply so we have a choice of getting off the train in San Jose or staying on another hour, and arriving in downtown Oakland - which is much closer to the city and across the Bay from San Francisco.

I think we will fly out the next morning around 11 AM. So we may want to be staying out by the airport. So should we get off in San Jose and take BART to the airport area - check in, then head into the city? Or just stay on the train all the way up to Oakland?

It also seems strange that it takes the Coast Starlight over an hour to go from San Jose to Oakland? With an 8:15 or so arrival in San Jose verses 9:30 or so in Oakland, we prefer the idea of getting off sooner to head into town for our last night (5 day trip from DC to SF).

We also looked at flying out of Oakland and maybe San Jose Airport - but the flights were generally a little bit more restrictive, and we did like the idea of getting into scenic SF and maybe visiting Fisherman's Wharf, etc... for a partial evening - verses staying out in San Jose or Oakland.

You might want to check the schedules for CalTrain. - http://www.caltrain....ytimetable.html