Have planned Amtrak trip of my dreams.

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

cheapfurcoat

I have planned out the trip I have been dreaming of for many years.

The wife, 4 year old son and myself are riding from Cleveland, Ohio to Klamath Falls, Oregon and back this October.

We have always wanted to ride Amtrak cross country with sleeper service and I was born in Klamath Falls but never really saw it as I was whisked back to Ohio right after I was born. So we are doing this dream trip for myself as well as the family.

We will be riding train #29 to Chicago in coach seats. Then #27 with a Family Bedroom. Then #11 in coach from Portland to Klamath Falls. The return trip will be vice versa riding trains#14, #28 and #30 respectively.

We will be spending 3 days in Klamath Falls to see the sights in the area.

My main concern (since this trip is mostly about the train ride experience),

is the habitual and extreme lateness of train #14 and it's missing our connection with train #28 in Portland. If I am correct, there's only about a 2 hour window to that connection. I don't relish the thought of missing my reserved Family Bedroom and riding coach for 3 days bach to Chicago.

Now I am planning on renting a car to bomb around the Klamath Falls area anyway. Would I be smart to rent from a main stream car rental firm so that if the northbound Coast Starlight is late, we can drive to Portland and not miss our reservations?

Was the Family Bedroom the right choice for a 2 parent-1 child family?

Also, any veteran riders of these trains are welcome to chime in about the visual as well as on train experiences.

The trip is 3 months away and I am already excited about it.