Hi from North Carolina!

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OmahaRoad

Service Attendant
AU Supporting Member
North Carolina now | Minnesota previously
Hello, Amtrak Unlimited community! I am a current NC resident who, prior to last summer, had lived in MN my whole life previously. I found AU earlier this year and have been a lurker but not a poster, and am excited to do some posting! I will mostly post on Minnesota/Midwest and North Carolina-related Amtrak topics. I've supported and advocated for Amtrak for awhile now, but prior to moving to NC, had only taken the Empire Builder a couple of times.

I am excited to be living in North Carolina, where there's a comparatively (to MN) robust ecosystem of Amtrak routes! I finally decided to join AU because I wanted to help provide more detailed information about the upcoming second train ("TCMC") between St. Paul and Chicago, and in the future, on what's up with the proposed/in-the-process Northern Lights Express (NLX) between Minneapolis (though there's a chance it could end up starting in St. Paul) and Duluth. Happy to be here!

Thanks, @chadamfleetrailfan ! I appreciate the welcome. I'm more on the east/east-central side (I live in the Triangle) of the state; so far, I've taken the Carolinian, Piedmont, and Silver Star, and hope to take the Palmetto sometime in the 6-8 months. Of course, since I live in the Triangle and the Palmetto runs through true eastern NC, I'd have to take the Carolinian over to Selma-Smithfield or Wilson to connect to the Palmetto (or the Meteor), though it's not too inconvenient as far as Amtrak goes.

Welcome to NC!