Life as an LSA?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Lets start off with a cordial and enthusiastic Hello! to all of you, this is my very first post (aww, aint that special). My question is this, i have an iterview coming up for an LSA position here in Chicago. I've browsed the forum and come up with a few insights to the life there-of, however questions remain. I've been running restaurants for 10 years now, every minute of my working life has been in the restaurant/guest services arena. I love and highly prefer train travel and have used it exrtesively for nearly all of my travel needs, both regional and long distance, so i am terrifically excited at the prospect of working for Amtrak. It would entail a fair pay cut to take the job however, so i have a few questions that i'm hoping some of you can answer for me...

1. What is the territory/job assignment like? I believe we bid on the jobs we want, correct?

2. What are my prospects as the "new guy" (as it pertains to the aforementioned inquiry :)

3. As the "FNG" am i on the Extra Board? Does it work in a similar fashion as the frieght roads, picking up the scraps left over by those who came before me? IE weekends, holidays etc... or do we get a "permanent" assignment?

4. What is the hiring/interview process like? I imagine with Amtrak's very strict dress code, first impressions are KEY (ie; dress sharp!)

5. How long does it take to build up any meaningful seniority? I'm willing and able to endure my share of paying the dues to get where i want...

6. What are the promotion possibilities? I would love to move into the AC and Conductor roles and potentially into Engine service or Management in the future...