"Limited" Train service again an option?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Philzy

Train Attendant
I was thinking about the old “Limited” service trains the other day and it got me to thinking. Would an actual Limited train work in today’s American rail environment outside the North East Corridor?

Correct me if I’m off here, but for those who don’t know, from what I’ve read (I’m still a noob and learning) trains with the title of “Limited” were just that, an Express train of sorts, making “Limited” stops where as a train of the same route that was not carrying title of “Limited” might make every stop along the way from Podunkville to Metropolis. From having worked in the Airline industry for so long, it’s quite easy to see this –in a variation- was the original “Hub-and-Spoke” system that the airlines use today. In addition it seems that most Limited service trains were basically all first class, and I’m assuming much more expensive in ticket price.

With the huge size of our amazing country, traveling by train long distances doesn’t always make the best use of time. Some train rides can be over 18 hours end to end. I thought of trains like the Capitol Limited (remember, just a name today), the Crescent and maybe some of the Silver Service to Florida as possible candidates for something like this. Limted service train obviously would prob cut the travel time down by quite a bit. I would think that people – especially business people – would be willing to pay a higher premium if it meant getting between two cities the same day and not having to deal with the hassles of the airports, security, weather delays and getting to and from said airports.