Looking for advice on New York State trains

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Rookie Rider

Hello

I'm new to Amtrak, used it to travel from my home in Connecticut to upstate NY for the first time last month. I will be a frequent traveler from New London, CT to Utica, NY in the months and years to come, needing to transfer at Penn Station-NY of course.

First, what should I know about the upstate lines during the snowy winters?

Second, any specific trains I should avoid?

to Utica

63 - Maple Leaf

287 - Empire Service

283 - Empire Service

49 - Lakeshore Lmtd

to NYP

48 - Lakeshore Lmtd

284 - Empire Service

286 - Empire Service

64 - Maple Leaf

Thanks

48 going east might be problematic do to delays, put preferable because of the full service diner. 49 also has a full service diner. 48 and 49 also have a longer stop in Albany with more potential for delay. As far as coach seating, 48 and 49 might have more legroom if you are riding in a long distance coach with leg rests.

The other trains are identical, accept if one of them has turboliner equipment. They have a shorter stop in albany. If you can identify which trains have turboliner equipment on them, chose those trains if they go all the way to Utica.

Winters would probably affect 48 and 49 the most becuase those trains go to and from Chicago.