Making Connections

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Making Connections

• Worry, worry, the entire trip.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Accept whatever happens and think of it as an adventure.

• Always stay overnight and make connections the next day.

• Total voters
Since I have some experience with which connections are usually made and not usually made, I would carefully pick and choose which ones I would chance and those not to chance. For example, I would book a same day connection from the Southwest Chief to the Starlight at Los Angeles, but not from the Sunset Limited to the Starlight since I know that one is usually not made (although the last six of these have actually connected, impressively enough).

Finally, even though I do tend to worry a little about making connections, I have learned it is better not to and to just accept whatever happens as an adventure, go with it, and ultimately try to make the best of it. Have fun! B)

The few times that I've made a connection, it really depended on the train. If I was connecting from the Empire Builder, I would only worry if it was less than an hour layover. However, with something like the Coast Starlight, which regularly misses its Portland connection to the Builder, I'd most likely plan on an overnight in the connection city.

I usually like to overnight it. I once had a 3 pm connection to the San Diegans from the Sunset Limited. You all know what happened. What made matters a little worse, I was meeting my girllfriend in San Dieago so that we could go to the zoo that night.

So . . . when we were hours late coming into Palm Springs I got my cell phone out and rented a car at the airport there and had a cab meet me at the station. It worked perfectly. The cab was pulling up as the train arrived.