Passenger Engineer Trainee

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

willyvee

Train Attendant
Hi everyone,

I've been an inactive reader of this forum for years and I've learned so much from all the great people here and the discussions they bring about. I'm hoping that some of you could chime in about Amtrak's Passenger Engineer Trainee positions.

Even though I'm a college graduate now, with a civil engineering degree, I can safely say that being an Amtrak locomotive engineer is still my dream job. I don't want to be stuck in the office behind a computer for the rest of my life.

The qualifications Amtrak lists for this position are surprisingly vague and few in number. The only solid qualification seems to be a bachelor's degree in an unspecified field. It seems Amtrak is willing to (and maybe has before?) hire people "off the street" as the saying goes. With the number of positions they post, which seems to be on average one per week, it seems to me like they would have to?

Although I've sent out many applications, I've never received any form of contact. Save for a few emailed rejections, most of my applications spend their time in an eternal "pending" status only for me to see they are no longer hiring for that position many months later.

My real question is: Where do I go from here? Amtrak seems to have no human resources contact information available, and telephone numbers I've found online lead to dead phone lines, so I'm pretty much left in the dark here. My only wish at this point is to be able to talk to someone at Amtrak for the dual purposes of getting my face seen but more importantly finding out what Amtrak is really looking for in a Passenger Engineer Trainee candidate. I'm posting here because I have nowhere else to turn, lest I keep sending applications into the ether.