SEPTA cancels contract with CRRC

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dutchrailnut

Conductor
And the best part is that Septa still hasn't learned a lesson from this. IF and that's a big IF they go for another order they'll order from the lowest bidder again who doesn't have a reputation. One would think that the Rotem and this order will show the big wigs at Septa to change their ways, but my gut tells me otherwise.

@Acela150, Once upon a time I would have said that’s a horribly cynical take, but then I started riding SEPTA.

I say thank goodness, it was a stupid idea to run double decker locomotive hauled trained on the densest commuter rail system in the nation. It would have adversely affected schedules, and they would have tried to stick them everywhere, regardless of what they said.

And the best part is that Septa still hasn't learned a lesson from this. IF and that's a big IF they go for another order they'll order from the lowest bidder again who doesn't have a reputation. One would think that the Rotem and this order will show the big wigs at Septa to change their ways, but my gut tells me otherwise.
Do they have a choice? Many government agencies have to take the lowest bid.

Do they have a choice? Many government agencies have to take the lowest bid.
I think a competent contract manager can always figure out a reject with cause argument if such is indicated. But to do so first the contract manager has to be competent enough to evaluate a contract adequately to figure out that it is no good. SEPTA's fundamental problem apparently is in not having competent purchase contract management.

Last edited:
@Acela150, Once upon a time I would have said that’s a horribly cynical take, but then I started riding SEPTA.