Texas Eagle 22--1st Amtrak trip

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
K

Kersey

Okay, I am a teacher and will be taking 6 senior girls to Chicago via the Texas Eagle in March. I have never been on an Amtrak train and neither have they. We are all very excited about our trip, but also wondering how the train ride will be. We will have to leave very very early in the middle of the night, but will only be on the train for approximately 12 hours. I would appreciate any and all tips you can give me for making this a great trip for these girls. We are on a budget also, so what should we do about food?

I think that you're all in for a real treat!

Here's a few tips to help get you started:

Food on the train can be a little pricey, so I would recommend taking a very small cooler with sandwiches and snacks. You can consume a private stock of food at your seats, but not in the lounge car or in the dining car. Keep in mind the maximum carry-on luggage is two pieces for passenger (not including purses or laptops).

Since you're leaving at pre-dawn and riding for 12 hours, you may wish to bring a lightweight blanket to get some rest. The Texas Eagle has pillows.

To find a seat on the train, look for one that is both unoccupied and does not have a seat check (small stub of paper with a 3-letter code) hanging above it.

I sometimes bring a small bag with soap, wash cloth, toothbursh, etc., to freshen up in the restroom toward the end of the trip.

You may also bring cards, magazines, games, etc. to make the trip more fun, especially when you're traveling with a group.

Hang out some in the lounge car and meet people. There should be some nice scenery, especially as you approach the Mississippi River.

Keep in mind that the trains run late due to various circumstances. Don't get in too big a hurry.