the sins we have commited to ourselves

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NE933

Conductor
A Metro North drawbridge in Norwalk got stuck again this evening, about a week ago the same one failed in the open position, delaying many trains over three hours.

I ask the moderators to let me cut and paste these words of a poster that I migrated over from another rail website I won't name, because his or her articulation about this situation could not have been said better; here it is:

"The recent TRAINS articles about the NEC and the draw bridges on the NEC made me weep.
I am a retired Civil Engineer and I see the nation's infrastructure crumbling from lack of maintenance and struggling to cope with rising demand. (Of the major categories of infrastructure, freight RRs actually are coping better than almost all other categories.) US investment in infrastructure dried up decades ago and this failed drawbridge is one of the symptoms of our giving ourselves tax cuts while other nations invest much more of their GDP in infrastructure than we do (US: about 4%, Europe about 7%, China about 9%). A "High Speed Rail" corridor should not even have movable bridges, they are always a source of unpredictable operations, even if they work perfectly. Sorry for the blast, but this type of outcome is sadly predictable."